(SAN ANTONIO) – Brooks Gives Back – Brooks’ 501(c)(3) announces the election of its board officers. The newly elected officers are Chairman David Marquez, Vice Chair Dr. Lorraine Pulido, Secretary Connie Gonzalez and Treasurer Samantha Carneiro. Officially re-launched in November 2018, Brooks Gives Back is led by a seven-member Board of Directors.

“I am honored to serve as the chair and lead this group of distinguished community leaders,” said Brooks Gives Back Chairman David Marquez. “Each of the Brooks Gives Back board members has a vested interest in Brooks and the surrounding region, and together we will be able to make a meaningful and lasting impact on this community.”

Brooks Gives Back raises funds through signature events on the Brooks campus, including the Día De Los Muertos Gala, and The Greenline Experience. These and other financial contributions to Brooks Gives Back are used to support meaningful non-profit initiatives on and around the Brooks campus.  

Brooks formed Brooks Gives Back after recognizing the need for a community-centric organization to support the mixed-use community’s mission of promoting and supporting the needs of children, families, and senior citizens in the surrounding neighborhoods. Brooks Give Back’s vision is for all who live, work, learn, play and stay at Brooks to be vested in the ideals of the common good, generosity and aspirational growth for the entire Brooks family. 

Chairman David Marquez serves as the Executive Director of Economic and Community Development for Bexar County. In this position, he directs the County's efforts to develop and improve the local economy. Mr. Marquez has also been the County's manager for the negotiation, construction, and ongoing operations of the AT&T Center. Mr. Marquez also serves as a professor at the University of the Incarnate Word teaching business courses in management, strategic planning, and analysis. 

Vice Chair Dr. Lorraine Pulido is the Communications Manager for VIA Metropolitan Transit. She has more than 13 years’ experience in the marketing and communications industry, previously serving as public relations manager for the City of San Antonio and the Health Department. She also serves as an adjunct faculty member in the communications department at Texas A&M San Antonio and has been a member of the Brooks Board of Directors since 2017. 

Secretary Connie Gonzalez is Director of Public Relations for Brooks. In this position, she is responsible for all external communications, media and public relations, as well as tenant relations, special events, social media and marketing programs. Ms. Gonzalez is active in the community serving on the City of San Antonio Planning Commission, the Board of Directors for the San Antonio Independent School District (SAISD) Foundation, the Centers for Applied Science and Technology (CAST) Med Advisory Board, the South San Antonio Chamber of Commerce and Urban Land Institute – San Antonio.

Treasurer Samantha Carneiro is the Chief Financial Officer for Brooks. In this position, she is responsible for overseeing the fiscal management and administration of Brooks’ budget planning, internal controls and financial reporting as well as financial modeling and analysis, investments, accounting and banking procurement.

Board Member Iñigo Arzac is Managing Partner at AXON Consultants. A former Brooks Board Member, Mr. Arzac has more than 10 years’ experience in banking and business development with global leaders. He also serves on the Board of Directors for The World Affairs Council of San Antonio and the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. 

Board Member Sandy Ethridge is the Chief Operating Officer for Mission Trail Baptist Hospital, which is located on the Brooks campus. In this position, she provides leadership, management and vision for the nationally-recognized hospital, which serves as the access point to the healthcare system for more than 345,000 people living in 16 zip codes across three different counties.  

Board Member Leo Gomez is President & CEO of Brooks. In this position, he is responsible for leading the Brooks Development Authority and Brooks Gives Back by working with the Board of Directors and staff to establish long-range strategic plans and policies for the redevelopment of the former Air Force Base. Mr. Gomez is active in the San Antonio community serving on the Board of Directors for numerous organizations, including the San Antonio Economic Development Foundation, San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and Hot Wells Conservancy. 

Board Member Ed McClure is President & CEO of Phoenix Hospitality Group, which operates the Embassy Suites at Brooks. Mr. McClure has more than 30 years’ experience in hotel development and management across the U.S. He has served as a board member for several organizations, including the Kendall County Economic Development Corporation, San Antonio & Boerne Convention Visitors Bureau and the Kendall County Hotel Occupancy Tax Board. 

Board Member Phyllis Viagran is the Membership Sales Coordinator for Visit San Antonio where she helps to promote the city as a global destination. A Southside native, Viagran is a vocal advocate for her community. Her previous experience includes work in education and as a member of the City of San Antonio’s crisis response team.  


Media Contact:
Connie Gonzalez, Director of Public Relations